An Update on Bangkok Dangerous

So tomorrow I’ll be seeing Bangkok Dangerous.  I’m thrilled.  Seriously.  I can’t remember the last time I was this excited about a movie.  Even my excitement for The Dark Knight doesn’t compare.  Whether it’s the hair, the awful fantastic diaglogue (“My name is Joe.  This is what I do.”) or the completely believable premise (hit man falls in love with a local woman and bonds with a local boy and decides to quit).  Or perhaps the amazing premise for the film as a whole: Let’s remake a ten year old movie that takes place in Asia with all Asian actors in an Asian setting but swapping out the lead Asian actor for…Nic Cage.

What else am I excited about with it?  Well, it’s leading the box office right now, beating out Tropic Thunder, House Bunny, and the Dark Knight.  Suck on that high budget films featuring respected actors.  And you too House Bunny.  It also has a 12% on RottenTomatoes, the review site aggregator.  This is 12% more than I expected.  

So maybe we get to see Nic Cage’s ass?  One can only hope.

~ by Arik on September 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
